texnanax.blogg.se

Building estimate model
Building estimate model








Product development and manufacturing have long relied on drawings to communicate, and as those drawings have migrated from paper to CAD, the effect on the development and manufacturing processes has been profound. However, there has been a paradigm shift in how people communicate through documentation, from paper to electronic forms. Documentation has been a necessary component to project work throughout history. I took that to a different bank that deals in intangibles (my mind and heart ) It's, just time for me to finish MY battle group. Seeing the look on folks faces as they studied the finished piece and you could see the sheer joy in their faces as they walked down memory lane. What it did do was finance my love of modeling and all the PLANES ,cars, ships and other models I wanted and subsequent supplies. No, it didn't make me well known, except where it counted . When they are done it's official, Minshipco will no longer be out there scouting for commissions. Have you any idea what kind of detail can be packed into a linear inch on a 1/96 scale ship ? I am currently working on my last commissions.

BUILDING ESTIMATE MODEL PLUS

Now on scratch builds (remember I am a ship modeler ) I get $ 65.00 An inch ! For anything over three feet I get $i20.00 an inch plus an hourly base. kits get built and sold to the commissioner for the kit plus x2. I am not saying it was bad but considering the actual speed with which I built that awful kit with extra detail to the engine I should have charged more, so just make sure you don't sell yourself short, otherwise people can, in cases take advantage of your good nature. I will say this, some collectors can get very irritating, I remember getting constant phone calls from one when I was building the kit asking how far along it was, and this is after I asked him at the very start if there was any rush for it, or any deadline, to which he replied no, then proceeded to phone constantly to the point I ignored calls. I usually work out a price and then if they agree I build it. Personally I prefer to consider to myself how difficult the kit in question is rather than what brand, as a cheaper kit will take longer and therefore cost more. I do love the craft and get great satisfaction from completing the build, but if it's something that someones asking you to build then I think it's only right that you charge what could be considered appropriate, for instance even if you charged minimum wage per hour of the build it's still going to cost quite a lot and considering that this kind of skilled work could charge much higher I think that 2-4 times the cost of the kit seems a fair deal or you could charge by the hour. The kit was about £60, to be honest I think it's important not to sell yourself short as building a model to a high standard is not something that many people can do generally speaking. I have charged £200 for a model, it was a commission build for an Airfix 1/24 Spitfire. Shop.I mean.browse my work in progress threads in here freely.lol. I do get satisfaction, especially in the case of the P-47N, knowing that something I created will be seen by others outside of my lair.įYI.all of my work is for sale at a fair price. He saw the WIP thread on here, sent me a PM and then we worked out a price that was fair. I recently sold my heavily reworked Academy P-47 N with a resin pit, wheels and guns to the original pilot's nephew. He was a struggling college student working part time so I only charged a little over twice the cost of the $30.00 kit. For example, about 5 years ago, I built an out of the box Mongram A-6 Intruder for a friend's Dad who worked on them back in the day. I like to recoup what I put into it and then maybe a little gravy on top to buy more kits. Nowadays, if I'm lucky enough to get a "client", I just factor in how involved the subject is and what extras were added. I've even seen the models done by the masters sit idle on Ebay forever. Lets face it, built scale models aren't exactly in high demand, so its wise to be negotiable and affordable, unless your a master class modeler (for I am not). I used to jokingly say "300 for fighters and 500 for bombers" but I always ended up settling for much much less. In my case, it usually starts with someone approaching me with interest in a particular subject. I consider myself an average modeler at best so I usually try to come up with a fair price. I never thought of the "cost of the kit times." formula, but 10x the cost?.ouch!.








Building estimate model